South Africa vs England: Fortuin into XI as the Proteas opt to chase_1

South Africa vs England: Proteas skipper Quinton de Kock won the toss and elected to bowl first in the second T20I.

De Kock revealed that the Proteas will rest Dale Steyn with left-arm spinner Bjorn Fortuin coming into the starting XI.

Fortuin will play just his third T20I and first in South Africa having debuted away from hime against India in the drawn T20I series late last year.

South Africa vs England: Proteas to bowl first

Speaking after winning the toss and opting to field first at Kingsmead on Friday 14 February, De Kock said: “Hope the boys come out here and bring out the energy we’ve seen so far. Bjorn Fortuin comes in, Dale is sitting out.”

Eoin Morgan said the pitch looked good and his team were confident they could get a big score on the board. He was grateful for good weather at Kingsmead which has seemed like a rain magnet in recent times.

England unchanged

England are unchanged from the first T20I with Jos Buttler and Jason Roy set to open the batting for the tourists.

“Looks a really good wicket,” says Morgan. “We’ll look for a marked improvement. That starts with the bat. Amazing [to see no rain] at Durban. It’s a fantastic place, lots of friends and family here so excited to get going. We’ve gone unchanged, we’ve got all the options covered at the moment. It was more execution of plans and skills that we’d like to sharpen up on tonight.”

The Proteas won the first match of the series at Buffalo Park in East London, claiming a one-run victory off the last ball.

Standing as umpires in this match are Allahudien Paleker and Bongani Jele with Adrian Holdstock performing the TV umpire duties.

England should be targeting a score of around 170 on a Kingsmead pitch that is usually on the slow side and offers some turn. For the Proteas a very good scenario would be to keep England below 150 which would make for a manageable chase under lights in Durban.

South Africa vs England: teams

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (capt, wk), 2 Temba Bavuma, 3 Rassie van der Dussen, 4 Jon-Jon Smuts, 5 David Miller, 6 Dwaine Pretorius, 7 Andile Phehlukwayo, 8 Beuran Hendricks, 9 Bjorn Fortuin, 10 Tabraiz Shamsi, 11 Lungi Ngidi.

England: 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jos Buttler (wk), 3 Jonny Bairstow, 4 Eoin Morgan, 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Joe Denly, 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Tom Curran, 9 Chris Jordan, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Mark Wood.