The 2020 Rugby Championship fixtures have been confirmed as the tournament returns to its regular format that sees each side play each other twice.

Springboks prepare for title defence

The Springboks achieved their very first Rugby Championship title in an abbreviated 2019 tournament when they beat Australia and Argentina either side of a draw against the All Blacks in Wellington.

Argentina will travel to South Africa to face the Springboks in Round 1 of the Rugby Championship with the match to be played at Ellis Park while the Wallabies host the All Blacks at Marvel Stadium.

Rugby Championship 2020: Full fixtures list including Springbok matches_1
SALTA, ARGENTINA – AUGUST 10: Damian De Allende of South Africa is tackled by Pablo Matera of Argentina during a match between Argentina and South Africa as part of The Rugby Championship 2019 at Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium on August 10, 2019 in Salta, Argentina. (Photo by Marcelo Endelli/Getty Images)

In week two of the Rugby Championship, the Springboks will play their first Test in the Argentinean City of San Juan.

The Springboks have to wait for Round 4 for their first meeting against the All Blacks whom they will face at Eden Park in Auckland.

The Boks play Argentina away in week two before travelling to Perth to tackle the Wallabies. The Springboks will close off their Rugby Championship defence with clashes against the Wallabies at Loftus.

The All Blacks will meet the Springboks in Nelspruit for the first time ever with the final round match to be held at the Mbombela Stadium.

The Wallabies will also break new ground by hosting Argentina in Newcastle. The city has played host to just one rugby union Test and has never staged a Rugby Championship match.

New Zealand will play their three home matches in the familiar surrounds of Wellington, Hamilton and Auckland.

Rugby Championship 2020: Full fixtures list including Springbok matches_2
Sevu Reece of the All Blacks is tackled during The Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup Test match between the New Zealand All Blacks and the Australian Wallabies at Eden Park on August 17, 2019 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

The All Blacks and Wallabies will play a third Bledisloe Cup Test match after the conclusion of the Rugby Championship on 17 October at the Suncorp Stadium.

Australia will not play any Tests in Sydney with the city’s two major rectangular Stadiums both undergoing redevelopment.

Rugby Championship fixtures 2020

8 August Australia vs New Zealand at Marvel Stadium8 August South Africa vs Argentina at Ellis Park

15 August New Zealand vs Australia at Wellington Regional Stadium15 August Argentina vs South Africa at Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario

29 August Australia vs South Africa at Optus Stadium29 August New Zealand vs Argentina at FMG Stadium

5 September New Zealand vs South Africa at Eden Park5 September Australia vs Argentina at McDonald Jones Stadium

19 September South Africa vs Australia at Loftus Versfeld19 September Argentina vs New Zealand Estadio Malvinas Argentinas

26 September South Africa vs New Zealand at Mbombela Stadium26 September Argentina vs Australia at Estadio Jose Amalfitani