Instagram privacy: Five settings you need to know about

Help to protect your Instagram account against phishing, internet fraud and cyber attacks by using these default privacy settings.


Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms, especially for millennials.


This multi-media platform instantly shares what you are doing and it has grown into platform for content-driven personal blogs, business pages and one of the bigger new media marketing platforms.


Like most social media platforms, however, Instagram gives out a lot of user data through the default settings your account holds. You may not give it much thought, but there are five features you should know about, particularly if you want to increase your privacy.

1. Privacy


By default your Instagram privacy is set to public on your and this may be the first setting you want to change. You can do this by going to Settings > Account privacy > Private account. This changes the setting from your posts being public to only being seen by people whom you accept as followers. This means anyone whom you have not given permission to follow you will not be able to view your posts.

2. Two factor authentication


Two factor authentication is a feature which adds extra protection to your account by sending you a login code every time you log in with a mobile or computer that is unrecognised. To activate this you go to Settings > Security > Two factor authentication.

3. Visibility


Any social media account can picked up by searching for the name on Google. The search engine giant then provides you with a direct link to the social media account holder's page.


To disable Google picking you up through the Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) you can go to Settings > Security > App and websites > Remove.


When you set up your social media account you may sometimes just press on the pop-ups without reading them, one of Instagram's pop ups is a contacts sync. This allows your social media account to be visible to your contact list.


You may want to disable this. If you do, then you can turn off contact syncing Settings > Account > Contact syncing >Remove.


One of Instagram's new features is directly removing people from following you. Previously you would have had a harder time to do this but now it's much simpler. You can go to Profile > Followers > Select the follower > Remove follower.

4. Instagram stories


You can hide your Instagram story from specific people by going to Settings> Story> Hide story from > (insert the name of the person).


You can also select who sees your stories by using the "close friends" feature. To do this you click Settings – Close Friends and then add a close friends list.


The share features on both Instagram and Facebook have become quite popular, but you can stop followers from sharing your story by going to Settings> Story > Allow resharing stories > Disable.

5. Activity status


Instagram is generally a little more private about your activity than Facebook but to make sure you cover all your tracks even further, you can disable your activity status. This can be done by Settings> Privacy > Activity status > Disable.