MotoGP: Quatrararo crashes, Morbidelli wins San Marino GP

Yamaha rider Franco Morbidelli won the San Marino MotoGP on Sunday after an incident-packed race at Misano Adriatico.

Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso took the championship lead from Fabio Quartararo who crashed out of the race.

Italian Morbidelli's victory ahead of countryman Francesco Bagnaia and Suzuki's Spanish rider Joan Mir was his first ever in motorcycling's elite class.

Mir claimed his spot on the podium with an audacious las lap overtaking move on Yamaha's Valentino Rossi, denying the doctor what would have been his 200th Premier class podium.

With twenty laps to go Quatrararo made an error at turn four and came off his bike which slid into the gravel. He dropped right back down the field having just moved up into fourth after overtaking Maverick Vinales. The crash forced the championship leader to retire and cede the lead to Dovizioso who claimed seventh.

South Africa's Brad Binder finished outside the points in 12th place but was the leading MotoGP rookie in this race. Binder is eighth in the world championship.

Morbidelli produce imperious ride

Morbidelli led the race from early on slipping past polesitter Maverick Vinales and setting the early pace.

Rossi kept up with the Italian until Morbidelli put the hammer down to set a new lap record and pull away at the head of the field.

Bagnaia and Rins hauled in Rossi after passing Jack Miller and Vinales. Ducati rider Bagnaia was back in MotoGP after breaking his leg earlier this season.

San Marino MotoGP results

1Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)42m 2.272s
2Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)+2.217s
3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.290s
4Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.643s
5Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+4.044s
6Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+5.383s
7Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+10.358s
8Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+11.155s
9Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+10.839s
10Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+12.030s
11Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+12.376s
12Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+12.405s
13Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+15.142s
14Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+19.914s
15Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+20.152s
16Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+22.094s
17Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+22.473s
18Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+37.856s
19Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+78.831s
 Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)DNF
 Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
MotoGP results

This post is currently not accepting comments.