Fortnite Doomsday Event: Date, start times and more

Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 2 was due to end on 2 June 2020 but unfortunately, world events conspired to push the detonation of the Doomsday Device at The Agency's HQ back a bit.


The last time Fortnite fans had an end of season live event to look forward to, was the jaw-dropping The End in season 10. The promise of a Doomsday inspired event has people excited.


It seems like we may finally be ready to start Season 3.

'FORTNITE' DOOMSDAY EVENT: EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW

Fortnite Doomsday event : Starting date and times


The upcoming live event currently known only as The Device or Doomsday will kick off on Monday 15 June, with the Season 3 launch delayed to Wednesday 17 June. Epic Games has not revealed a time for the game to go live.


The Fortnite Doomsday was originally expected to start on Saturday, 30 May at 19:05 BST (20:05 SAST, South African Standard Time) before the series of delays hit the event and Season 3 launch.


It was expected that the new event would have taken place on a Saturday. This is not the case this time around. Instead, the Fortnite Doomsday event kicked off on Monday 15 June 2020 from 19:05 UK time (20:05 SAST).


For anyone else in the world that means you can expect the Fortnite Doomsday event to start at these times:

  1. United States – 14:05 EST (Eastern Time) and 11.05 PST (Pacific Time)

  2. Europe – 20:05 CET (Central European Time)[*]Asia – 14:05 CST (China Standard Time)[*]Australia – 4.05 AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)


Fortnite Doomsday event: What to expect


Epic Games has been quiet on what we can expect from the game this time around.


In a statement on the game's website the developer announced that the start of the season and the transition event will be nudged back. The post read:


"Recent events are a heavy reminder of ongoing injustices in society, from the denial of basic human rights to the impact of racism both overt and subtle against people of colour. We're acutely aware of the pain our friends, families, team members, players, and communities are experiencing. We believe in equality and justice, diversity and inclusion, and that these fundamentals are above politics."


This content has been created as part of our freelancer relief programme. We are supporting journalists and freelance writers impacted by the economic slowdown caused by #lockdownlife.


If you are a freelancer looking to contribute to The South African, read more here.